

NARUC 2014 Summer Committee Meetings

Special Meetings

The Sunday Morning Collaborative Sunday, July 13

9:00am - 11:45am

Dallas F & G

9:00 AM Demand Response: The Way Forward

Co-Chairs:

Hon. Tony Clark, Federal Energy Regulatory Commission *Hon. Eric Callisto,* Wisconsin *Hon. Travis Kavulla,* Montana

With uncertainty surrounding demand response as a result of the May 2014 decision of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit overturning FERC Order No. 745, this dialogue will provide an opportunity to discuss the best way to achieve successful demand response programs moving forward. While the conversation will not address the details of FERC's plans to implement or address the D.C. Circuit decision, this is an opportunity to look again at the role of demand response and the cooperative federalism required for its successful implementation. The event will begin by asking the attorneys rep resenting either side of the demand response debate "Where are we now?" and will then move to a panel discussion with representatives of the demand response and finance sectors, ISOs, academics, and States to discuss the pressing questions facing the industry, including:

- 1. Assuming the decision stands, what can States do to access Demand Response resources?
- 2. What are States already doing?
- 3. Is there a way for utilities and States to work with one another, across a region, to create an effective DR market?
- 4. What are the benefits and costs of placing demand response on the supply or demand side of the equation?
- 5. What hinders demand response success on the retail level?
- 6. What lessons have been learned from wholesale and retail demand response programs so far?

9:05am Legal Overview: Where are we now? How can we move forward?

Speaker: Sandy Rizzo - Partner, Arnold & Porter

10:00am Demand Response Roundtable

Speakers: Hon. Audrey Zibelman - Chair, New York Public Service Commisison
Paul Centolella - Vice President, Analysis Group
Dan Delurey - President, Association for Demand Response and Smart Grid
Chris Hickman - CEO and President, Innovari
Andy Ott - Executive Vice President, PJM Interconnection
Heather Sanders - Director, Regulatory Affairs for Distributed Energy Resources, CAISO