News

National Global Climate Change Legislation: How the Key Players View the Issues

December 7, 2007
Arnold & Porter LLP
399 Park Avenue Conference Room 34A
New York, NY

Teleconference Program Information

Friday, December 7, 2007
12:15 p.m. - 1:45 p.m. Eastern Time / 11:15 a.m. - 12:45 p.m. Central Time
10:15 a.m. - 11:45 a.m. Mountain Time / 9:15 a.m. - 10:45 a.m. Pacific Time

Program Overview:
Global climate change is currently front and center on the national stage before Congress, with numerous bills pending or being readied for introduction in both Houses. This teleconference (the second on climate change over the next six months) will address the key issues under consideration in the legislation, including key design elements of cap-and-trade bills. Primary topics under cap-and-trade include: allowance allocations versus auctions, point of regulation, offsets, cost-containment mechanisms, and technologies, incentives and funding mechanisms. Other cap-and-trade related topics include: preemption and the relationship of legislation to the Clean Air Act; and international leakage and linkages, including comparable action by other major emitting nations. Other topics to be considered include: carbon tax and hybrid approaches; coverage of transportation and homes, including building codes and appliance efficiency standards; and land use issues.

The teleconference is intended to provide the audience with an in-depth look at key design issues for climate legislation. The program will include diverse viewpoints of speakers from Capitol Hill, industry, the environmental community and think tanks - key players in the policy debates on legislative issues.

Educational Objectives:

  • Provide the audience with an in-depth look at key design issues for climate legislation
  • Survey key bills that are currently in Congress or likely to be introduced

Meet the speakers

Email Disclaimer