Skip to main content

Zerjal Fink Named to American Bankruptcy Institute's '40 Under 40' Class of 2020

October 30, 2020

Arnold & Porter Bankruptcy and Restructuring partner Maja Zerjal Fink was named to the American Bankruptcy Institute's 2020 class of "40 Under 40" honorees. The highly competitive initiative annually identifies 40 top industry professionals under the age of 40 who demonstrate an outstanding record of professional achievement and community leadership. Honorees will be recognized at a ceremony planned for February 2021.

The accolade highlights rising stars in the bankruptcy profession who are committed to "the highest standards of achievement." After receiving more than 250 applications, ABI's steering committee selected the 2020 class based on their dedication to the profession, leadership and mentoring skills, professional and community service, sustained career progress, and achievements in representations on behalf of clients.

Zerjal Fink, who joined Arnold & Porter in September, represents clients in distressed situations, corporate reorganizations, distressed investment litigation, and insolvency proceedings in the United States and across the globe. She has been involved in some of the largest reorganization cases in the United States, including the restructuring of Puerto Rico's outstanding debt load of more than $74 billion, casino empire Caesars Entertainment's debt of over $18 billion, and Hertz, where she represents an ad hoc group of first lien lenders holding more than $1 billion of debt. Her experience includes representations of private equity sponsors, debtors, foreign debtors and representatives, statutory and ad hoc committees, lenders, bondholders, investors, trade creditors, and landlords.

This marks the third time that a member of Arnold & Porter's Bankruptcy and Restructuring practice has been included in ABI's prestigious "40 Under 40" program. Partner Brian Lohan was named to the inaugural 2017 class of "40 Under 40" honorees, while partner Rosa Evergreen was named to the 2018 class.